Saturate Your Mind with Truth

October 8, 2010 at 11:47 pm Leave a comment

“Command those who are rich in this present world not to be arrogant nor to put their hope in wealth, which is so uncertain, but to put their hope in God who richly provides us with everything …” 1 Timothy 6:17 (NIV)

The unemployment rate is still high. I have seen friends and family members lose jobs, investments, and have to make various cutbacks. It seems you can hardly turn anywhere today without seeing reminders of economic hardships.

One of my coworkers is now employed after being out of work for one year. I can’t imagine how difficult it must have been to be unemployed and have three children to care of as a single parent. I know God is the great provider, so why wasn’t He providing for my coworker?

Whenever I face situations I am having a hard time understanding, I have to center my mind with what I know to be true. Keeping my mind saturated with the word of God keeps the enemy from successfully infiltrating my thoughts with negative assumptions, false accusations, and faith-eroding perspectives.

What is true no matter the situation we are faced with is that God is a great provider. I fix my mind on that. This is the reality that saturates my thoughts. This is the truth that allows me to rise above negative circumstance and embrace a perspective that is life giving, not suffocating. I also recognize that nothing catches God by surprise and He is never short of resources. Sometimes part of God’s provision is to allow us to walk through challenges to make us wiser and stronger. That was part of His perfect provision for my coworker. While unemployed, he developed better ways of managing his finances to make his money stretch further.

The Bible tells us in Philippians 4:8-9 that if we think on what is true, the peace of God will be with us. I believe that ultimately peace is what we really want anyway.

Center you mind on His truth today, because His peace is just simply a declaration of truth away.

Entry filed under: Christianity, Spirituality, Wellness. Tags: , , , , , , .

Prepared for Battle in South Africa Jumping Squats

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Share This Blog

Bookmark and Share

Recent Posts

Visit LiveLiving.org Today

October 2010
M T W T F S S
« Sep   Nov »
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
25262728293031

Christian Health and Wellness

Mondays with Dr. Mitchell


